Blogher Writing Lab – Magic Number – Jan 13th, 2016

Today’s prompt is:

jan 13th

Eons ago, phones were analog devices hung onto the wall of our home, or placed on the coffee table, for the sole purpose of receiving and making calls. But, thanks to the technology breakthroughs, nowadays, our digital phones provides us with plethora of utilities ranging from phone calls, messages, checking emails, social media interaction, checking news, weather, playing games, etc.

Well, to begin with, “checking my phone” is the first thing that I do, the moment I open my eyes in the morning, and also the last thing before I close my eyes at night. I can safely say that I ‘wake up’ and ‘sleep to’ my iPhone! 🙂 I haven’t actually counted that ‘magic number’, but I think I might at least check my phone 15-20 times a day!! I am connected to my family, friends and loved ones via Facebook, Whatsapp, Twitter and Instagram. I love being in touch with them regularly. Most of them are scattered across the world and social media serves as a great platform to keep myself abreast with important events and incidents happening in their lives. I moved to US after my wedding, so couldn’t get a chance to know and understand my husband side’s family and relatives. But, thanks to recent group that I created on whatsapp, I had the opportunity to converse with his side of family on regular basis and understand them better. We also share pictures of major events of our lives on this group.

Pinterest is goldmine for plentiful ideas and tutorials of various genre like – baking, cooking, crafts, sewing, scrapbooking, photography, jewelry making etc. I login to Pinterest on regular basis to get updates of interesting pins from the boards and people that I am following.

I have also installed some news apps like cnn, new york times etc to get my morning dose of news.

My Emails buzz every time I receive a new one, forcing me to view them easily on my phone and respond to the sender.

Thus, because I use my iPhone for various purposes, I feel the need and urge to check it regularly.

P.S: I will not muster the courage to actually count that ‘magic number’, but I will continue to live with the assumption that number is twenty! 😛

P.P.S: I am consciously practicing not to touch my phone when my little one is around, so that he receives my ‘complete attention’.

4 thoughts on “Blogher Writing Lab – Magic Number – Jan 13th, 2016

  1. Ha ha! Yeah – sticking to 20 is safe. I’m try to not check it often so that I don’t miss life passing by. I keep it on silent most of the times to get into a habit. If there is something urgent, I will be give a call.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Truly said, the usage and meaning of phone has changed dramatically. It is no longer a tool used only for making calls. Your 20 times a day number appears to a be a little conservative ;).

    Like

Leave your Footprints :)

